The best 4-way locking pet door lets you choose whether your pet can go in, go out, move in both directions, or stay inside. The CEESC X-Large is best for small dogs under 25 pounds that need a clearly specified opening, while the Cat Mate suits larger cats and small dogs by shoulder height. The other picks offer alternative sizes or installation styles, but do not list the same four-way control.
| Product | Best For | Access Control |
|---|---|---|
| CEESC X-Large | Small dogs under 25 pounds | Four-way switch |
| Cat Mate Large | Large cats and small dogs | Four-way lock |
| Mkobon | Medium cats and small dogs | Four-way switches |
| Baboni Wall Door | Large pets and wall installs | Not specified |
| Lessmon Large | Medium and large pets | Magnetic closure and panel |
CEESC X-Large Four-Way Pet Door

The CEESC X-Large is best for households with a cat or small dog under 25 pounds that need explicit four-way access settings. Red and green switches set the door to in only, out only, both directions, or fully locked. Its listed inner opening is 7.9 by 8.7 inches, and the cutout is 8.3 by 9.5 inches.
The adjustable tunnel depth is intended for doors 1.26 to 2.17 inches thick. A transparent flap, exterior rain seal, and brush strip are included. Check the pet’s waist measurement against the stated limit of less than 24.8 inches. This is an extra-large cat-door model, not a full-size dog door.
Cat Mate Large Four-Way Locking Door

The Cat Mate is best for buyers who want four-way access control for a large cat or small dog. Its settings allow in-and-out access, entry only, exit only, or full locking. The product is described as suitable for pets up to 14.17 inches in shoulder height, with Yorkshire Terriers and Miniature Poodles given as examples.
A brush-sealed flap and magnetic closure are listed to help limit drafts and rain. Choose this model when shoulder height is a useful sizing measure for your pet. The listing does not provide an interior flap opening measurement, so confirm fit before choosing it.
Mkobon Four-Way Locking Pet Door

The Mkobon is best for medium-sized cats and small dogs that need a compact door with four selectable modes. Its clear passage measures 7.1 by 6.7 inches, while the exterior frame measures 9.8 by 9.3 by 2.1 inches. Sliding switches select in only, out only, both directions, or fully locked.
The transparent flap, soft brush seals, and water-resistant exterior are listed as features for reducing noise and limiting drafts, insects, and moisture. Measure your pet against the passage dimensions before buying. The opening may not suit pets larger than the stated medium-cat and small-dog use.
Baboni Large Wall Pet Door

The Baboni is best for buyers prioritizing a large wall opening and a telescoping tunnel rather than a stated four-way lock. It is listed for pets up to 100 pounds, with a flap opening of 10.25 by 16.25 inches. The tunnel accommodates walls 4.75 to 7.25 inches thick.
A steel frame, three-flap design, aluminum lock, cutout template, and installation instructions are included in the product details. Its wall cutout is 12 by 17.75 inches. Four-way entry and exit settings are not specified, so avoid this option if that exact control is essential.
Lessmon Large Magnetic Dog Door

The Lessmon is best for medium or large pets when a magnetic flap closure and removable access panel are more important than four-way switching. It is listed for pets up to 100 pounds and has a 16.9-by-14-inch size. Weather-resistant seals are described as protection against wind and rain.
The magnetic strip helps keep the flap closed, while the snap-in closing panel gives owners a way to restrict access. The product information does not list four distinct in-and-out settings. Choose another door if you specifically need in-only, out-only, both-ways, and fully locked modes.
Buying Guide: How to Choose a Four-Way Pet Door
Does the door offer all four access settings?
Look for explicit modes for entry only, exit only, two-way passage, and fully locked. A magnetic closure or removable panel can help close a door, but those features are not automatically equivalent to a four-way locking system.
How should you compare opening sizes?
Measure your pet’s height and width, then compare those measurements with the listed flap or passage opening. Do not rely on the exterior frame size: the frame is larger than the usable opening. Leave enough clearance for comfortable passage.
Will it fit the installation location?
Check the stated door thickness, tunnel depth, or wall thickness range before purchase. Wall-mounted models can require a larger cutout and more installation planning than a door-mounted model. Use the product’s cutout measurements rather than estimating from its frame dimensions.
Which weather and noise features matter?
For an exterior opening, consider listed seals, brush strips, rain protection, or a magnetic closure. These features vary by product and should not be treated as a guarantee that a door will block all drafts or moisture.
Frequently Asked Questions
What does four-way locking mean on a pet door?
It means the door can be set for entry only, exit only, movement in both directions, or no passage.
Can a cat door work for a small dog?
Some models are listed for both cats and small dogs. Check the stated weight, shoulder height, waist measurement, and opening dimensions for the specific product.
Is a magnetic closure the same as four-way locking?
No. A magnetic closure helps the flap return to or remain closed. Four-way locking provides separate access settings.
Should I measure the frame or the flap opening?
Measure your pet against the usable flap or passage opening. The outer frame and wall cutout are installation dimensions, not the clear space available to your pet.