The clearest match in this list for shoppers avoiding byproduct meal is Nutrish Grain Free Salmon, whose supplied product details specifically say it has no poultry by-product meal. The other four options may suit buyers comparing protein sources, life-stage coverage, or feeding formats, but their provided descriptions do not confirm that they are byproduct-free. Check the current package ingredient list before buying if avoiding all animal byproducts is essential.
| Product | Best For | Byproduct Information Provided |
|---|---|---|
| Nutrish Grain Free Salmon | Salmon-first, grain-free dry food | States no poultry by-product meal |
| CRAVE Lamb | Adult dogs and high-protein preference | Not specified |
| Nutro Beef & Brown Rice | Beef recipe with digestive-support features | Not specified |
| Happy Howl Variety Pack | Chicken-free wet food trial | Not specified |
| Diamond Naturals Salmon | All-life-stages dry food | Not specified |
Nutrish Grain Free Salmon Dry Dog Food

Best for: Buyers seeking a salmon-first, grain-free dry food with an explicit statement about poultry by-product meal. The product details identify real salmon as the first ingredient and say the recipe contains no poultry by-product meal. They also describe it as suitable for dogs of all ages and include sweet potatoes.
The stated protein purpose is to help support lean muscle mass and healthy organs. This makes Nutrish the strongest direct match in this selection for the article’s byproduct-focused search, while still requiring shoppers to distinguish poultry by-product meal from every possible animal byproduct.
Limitation: The listed claim excludes poultry by-product meal; it does not establish that the food is free of every type of byproduct. The supplied details also do not describe the recipe as a complete exclusion of all grains beyond saying no grain or gluten ingredients are added.
CRAVE Grain Free High Protein Lamb

Best for: Adult-dog owners looking for a lamb-based, grain-free dry food with a stated high-protein formula. CRAVE says its recipe provides 34% protein and uses real animal protein, with lamb identified as the protein source in the product name. The listing says it is intended for dogs of any size.
Choose this if protein level and a grain-free recipe matter alongside ingredient-label comparison. It is included as a relevant alternative, not as a confirmed byproduct-free choice: the supplied features do not state whether it contains animal byproducts or byproduct meal.
Limitation: The listed bag is 4 pounds, which may be less convenient for households that prefer a larger package. Check the ingredient panel for the specific byproduct wording you want to avoid.
Nutro Natural Choice Beef & Brown Rice

Best for: Adult-dog owners comparing a beef-and-brown-rice recipe with listed skin, coat, and digestion support features. Nutro describes an omega-3 and omega-6 fatty acid balance for skin and coat support, plus prebiotic fiber from beet pulp for digestion. The listing also identifies vitamin E and selenium among its antioxidant nutrients.
Choose this if you prefer a recipe featuring brown rice rather than a grain-free formula and value the specific support features stated by the brand. The product information supplied here does not confirm whether the recipe excludes byproducts, so it should not be treated as a verified byproduct-free product.
Limitation: The listed information does not provide a no-byproduct claim. Review the current package label if that is a firm requirement.
Happy Howl Chicken-Free Wet Food Variety Pack

Best for: Buyers seeking a wet-food sample pack described as chicken-free and suitable for all life stages. The supplied details say the food is slow-cooked, made with human-grade ingredients, and contains no artificial preservatives. They also describe it as complete and balanced for puppies through seniors.
This option is useful for shoppers comparing a wet format or avoiding chicken ingredients. However, chicken-free does not mean byproduct-free. The provided description does not make a claim about animal byproducts, so check the full ingredient list before choosing it for that reason.
Limitation: This is a sample pack of three 14.6-ounce portions, rather than a dry-food bag. Follow the product’s feeding directions and introduce any new food gradually.
Diamond Naturals Salmon Skin & Coat Formula

Best for: Households comparing a salmon-first dry food labeled for all life stages. The product details identify real salmon as the first ingredient and describe omega fatty acids for skin and coat support. They also list vegetables, superfoods, antioxidants, prebiotics, and proprietary K9 Strain probiotics as formula features.
Choose this if all-life-stages coverage and the listed digestion and skin-and-coat features are important. The information provided does not say that the recipe is free of byproducts, so it is a candidate to investigate rather than a confirmed match for strict byproduct avoidance.
Limitation: The listed package is 30 pounds, a larger quantity than the other dry foods in this selection. Confirm the ingredient panel before purchasing if byproduct exclusion is required.
Buying Guide: How to Choose Dog Food Without Byproducts
What does “byproduct-free” mean on a dog food label?
“Byproduct” can refer to different animal-derived ingredients, while “byproduct meal” is a more specific label term. A claim excluding poultry by-product meal does not automatically exclude every other byproduct or meal. Read the full ingredient list and identify the exact ingredients you want to avoid.
Should you choose grain-free or grain-inclusive food?
Grain-free is a separate recipe characteristic, not proof that a food is free of byproducts. Nutrish and CRAVE are described as grain-free, while Nutro’s recipe includes brown rice. Compare the ingredient profile with your dog’s needs and any guidance from your veterinarian rather than using grain status as a substitute for checking byproduct claims.
Which food format and life-stage label fit your dog?
Dry food may be easier to portion and store, while wet food offers a different texture and feeding format. Check whether the product is intended for your dog’s life stage. The supplied descriptions identify Nutrish and Diamond Naturals as all-life-stages options, CRAVE and Nutro as adult foods, and Happy Howl as suitable for all life stages.
How should you compare special formula claims?
Compare the specific features stated on each product, such as protein percentage, named protein source, prebiotic fiber, or omega fatty acids. These claims do not replace a complete ingredient review. If your dog has a sensitive stomach, allergy, or medical dietary need, ask a veterinarian before changing foods.
Frequently Asked Questions
Which option explicitly says it has no poultry by-product meal?
Nutrish Grain Free Salmon is the only product in this selection whose supplied details explicitly state that it has no poultry by-product meal.
Are the other four products confirmed to be byproduct-free?
No. Their provided descriptions do not confirm that they exclude byproducts. Check the current package label before buying.
Does chicken-free mean byproduct-free?
No. Chicken-free describes the absence of chicken ingredients; it does not establish that a food excludes other animal byproducts.
Can puppies eat every food listed here?
No. Product life-stage claims differ. The supplied details describe CRAVE and Nutro as adult foods, while Nutrish, Happy Howl, and Diamond Naturals are described as suitable for all ages or life stages.
What should I check before switching my dog’s food?
Review the full ingredient list, life-stage statement, and feeding directions. Introduce a new food gradually, and consult your veterinarian about allergies or health-related dietary needs.