The best flea and tick wash depends on your pet’s species, age, and coat-care needs. Veterinary Formula is a dog-and-cat option with pyrethrum; ADAMS Plus is best for buyers seeking a shampoo that also targets flea eggs; Hartz UltraGuard Rid is a dog shampoo with oatmeal; TropiClean is a dog-only choice featuring essential oils; and the smaller ADAMS bottle offers similar listed features in a compact size. Check each product’s label and directions before use.
| Product | Best For | Key Listed Feature |
|---|---|---|
| Veterinary Formula | Dogs and cats | Pyrethrum; soap- and paraben-free |
| ADAMS Plus, 12 oz | Coat conditioning and flea-egg control | Claims 28-day prevention of egg hatching |
| Hartz UltraGuard Rid | Dogs with itchy, irritated skin | Oatmeal formula |
| TropiClean Max Strength | Dog owners seeking an essential-oil formula | Lemongrass oil and citrus scent |
| ADAMS Plus, 6 oz | Buyers wanting a smaller bottle | Claims contact action against fleas, eggs, ticks, and lice |
Veterinary Formula Flea And Tick Shampoo

This 16-ounce shampoo is formulated for dogs and cats. Its listed active ingredient is pyrethrum, described by the manufacturer as a natural insecticide intended to kill and control fleas and ticks on contact. The formula is also described as soap- and paraben-free, with naturally derived cleansers.
Best for: Pet owners who want one wash formulated for both dogs and cats, and who value a soap- and paraben-free cleanser. It was selected for its stated cross-species use and its combination of pest control and coat cleansing.
Limitation: The product information does not specify an age range or lasting protection period. Follow the bottle directions and confirm suitability for your individual pet before use.
ADAMS Plus Flea And Tick Shampoo, 12 Oz

ADAMS Plus is listed for dogs and cats 12 weeks and older. Its features state that it kills fleas, flea eggs, ticks, and lice on contact. The creamy formula is described as washing and conditioning the coat, while Precor is included to stop the flea life cycle and keep eggs from hatching for 28 days.
Best for: Owners looking for a wash with a stated flea-egg control claim and coat-conditioning features. The 12-ounce size is a practical comparison point for buyers who want more product than the listed 6-ounce version.
Limitation: The stated age guidance excludes pets under 12 weeks. Do not assume it is suitable for younger animals; check the label for complete use directions.
Hartz UltraGuard Rid Oatmeal Dog Shampoo

This 18-ounce dog shampoo is described as killing fleas and ticks through contact. It has a fresh scent and includes oatmeal, which the product information says provides soothing relief from itchy, irritated skin.
Best for: Dog owners who want a flea-and-tick wash that combines cleansing with an oatmeal feature aimed at itchy skin. It was selected because its stated use and soothing ingredient make its purpose easy to distinguish from the other options.
Limitation: The listing identifies this as a dog shampoo, not a cat shampoo. The supplied information does not state an age range or provide a lasting protection claim.
TropiClean Max Strength Flea And Tick Shampoo

TropiClean’s 20-ounce formula is listed for dogs. The product description says it washes away pests in one bath and uses natural ingredients and an essential-oil blend. Lemongrass oil is described as providing repellent action, and the shampoo has a citrus scent.
Best for: Dog owners who prefer a shampoo featuring essential oils and a citrus scent. It stands apart from the listed contact-kill formulas by emphasizing pest removal and repellent action.
Limitation: The listing specifies dogs, so cat owners should not treat it as a cat-safe option. Review the packaging for full directions and ingredient details before use.
ADAMS Plus Flea And Tick Shampoo, 6 Oz

This smaller ADAMS Plus option shares the listed claims of the 12-ounce version: contact action against fleas, flea eggs, ticks, and lice; coat washing and conditioning; and keeping flea eggs from hatching for 28 days. The provided features specify dogs and cats 12 weeks and older.
Best for: Buyers who want the ADAMS Plus feature set in a 6-ounce bottle, such as those comparing a smaller format with the 12-ounce product. Its listed pest targets and age guidance match the larger option.
Limitation: The stated minimum age is 12 weeks. The product data does not establish that the smaller bottle is more concentrated or otherwise different in formula from the larger size.
Buying Guide
Does the shampoo need to be suitable for cats?
Check the listed species first. Veterinary Formula and both ADAMS Plus listings specify dogs and cats. Hartz and TropiClean are listed for dogs. Do not infer cat suitability from a general flea-and-tick claim; use only as directed on the product label.
Do you want contact action or a flea-egg claim?
Several products describe contact action against fleas and ticks. The ADAMS Plus listings go further in their supplied details by naming flea eggs and stating that eggs will not hatch for 28 days. Compare the exact label claims rather than assuming every wash provides the same duration of effect.
What age restrictions should you check?
The ADAMS Plus descriptions specify use for dogs and cats 12 weeks and older. The other supplied product details do not give an age range. For puppies, kittens, senior pets, or animals with health concerns, consult the packaging and a veterinarian before choosing a wash.
Which coat-care features matter?
ADAMS Plus is described as washing and conditioning the coat. Veterinary Formula emphasizes gentle, soap- and paraben-free cleansers. Hartz includes oatmeal for itchy, irritated skin, while TropiClean highlights an essential-oil blend. Select based on the stated features and your pet’s needs.
Can a wash replace ongoing flea prevention?
The supplied descriptions do not establish that every shampoo replaces a complete flea-control plan. A bath addresses only the uses described for that product. Ask a veterinarian how to manage an infestation and whether additional prevention or home treatment is appropriate.
Frequently Asked Questions
Which listed flea wash is formulated for both dogs and cats?
Veterinary Formula and both ADAMS Plus shampoos are listed for dogs and cats. ADAMS Plus specifies pets 12 weeks and older.
Which option includes oatmeal?
Hartz UltraGuard Rid is the listed dog shampoo with oatmeal, described as providing soothing relief for itchy, irritated skin.
Which shampoo claims 28-day flea-egg control?
Both ADAMS Plus listings say the shampoo keeps flea eggs from hatching for 28 days. Follow the product label for use instructions.
Which product features lemongrass oil?
TropiClean Max Strength features lemongrass oil and is listed as a flea-and-tick shampoo for dogs.
Can I use a dog-only shampoo on my cat?
The product information provided does not support using Hartz or TropiClean on cats. Choose a product labeled for your pet’s species and follow its directions.