The best flea treatment for a cat depends on the cat’s weight, age, and the product’s active protection. These topical options are designed for cats, with choices for large cats over 9 pounds and one option for medium cats weighing 5–9 pounds. Advantage II is best suited to buyers seeking coverage for adult fleas, larvae, and eggs, while Amazon Basics offers a stated 12-hour flea-kill time. Always match the product to your cat’s weight and age and follow its package directions.
| Product | Best For | Key Difference |
|---|---|---|
| Advantage II Large Cat, 2 Count | Large cats over 9 pounds | Targets adult fleas, larvae, and eggs |
| Amazon Basics Large Cat, 6 Count | Large cats over 9 pounds | Six-dose pack; states fleas are eliminated within 12 hours |
| Amazon Basics Medium Cat, 4 Count | Cats weighing 5–9 pounds | Weight-specific medium-cat formula |
| Advantage Large Cat, 2 Treatments | Large cats over 9 pounds | Monthly topical flea treatment and prevention |
| Advantage II Large Cat, 6 Count | Large cats over 9 pounds | Six monthly doses with flea life-stage coverage |
Advantage II Large Cat, 2 Count

Advantage II Large Cat is a monthly topical treatment and prevention product for cats over 9 pounds and at least 8 weeks old. Its listed features say it kills adult fleas, flea larvae, and flea eggs through contact. It does not require a prescription and provides an alternative to pills for cats that are difficult to medicate orally.
Best for: Owners of eligible large cats who want a topical option that targets multiple flea life stages. It was selected for its stated adult flea, larva, and egg coverage. Limitation: This two-dose pack provides fewer applications than the six-dose option, and it is not listed for cats under 9 pounds.
Amazon Basics Large Cat, 6 Count

This six-dose topical product is intended for large cats over 9 pounds. The listed features state that it eliminates fleas within 12 hours and uses imidacloprid and pyriproxyfen to kill adult fleas and help prevent flea infestations. The multipack format may suit buyers planning to maintain a series of treatments according to the product label.
Best for: Owners seeking a six-dose topical option for a cat over 9 pounds and prioritizing the stated 12-hour flea-kill time. Limitation: The provided product information does not specify an eligible minimum age, so check the package directions or ask a veterinarian before use, especially for a young cat.
Amazon Basics Medium Cat, 4 Count

This four-dose topical treatment is specifically listed for medium cats weighing 5–9 pounds. Its stated dual-ingredient formula contains imidacloprid and pyriproxyfen, and the product information says it eliminates fleas within 12 hours and kills adult fleas to help prevent infestations. Weight range is the main distinction between this option and the large-cat Amazon Basics formula.
Best for: Owners whose cat falls within the listed 5–9-pound range and who want a topical treatment. It was selected because it is the only supplied product specifically designated for medium cats. Limitation: Do not choose it for a cat outside its stated weight range; confirm the package directions before treating.
Advantage Large Cat, 2 Treatments

This Advantage topical treatment is listed for large cats over 9 pounds and at least 8 weeks old. It is applied monthly, treats and helps prevent fleas, and avoids the need to give a pill. Unlike the Advantage II products in this comparison, the supplied feature list does not state that it kills flea larvae and eggs.
Best for: Owners of eligible large cats who want a monthly topical product from the Advantage line. It was selected as a straightforward alternative to the Advantage II options. Limitation: The listed information does not describe coverage of flea larvae or eggs, so compare the label’s coverage with your needs.
Advantage II Large Cat, 6 Count

This six-count version of Advantage II is for large cats over 9 pounds and at least 8 weeks old. Like the two-count version, it is a monthly topical treatment that kills adult fleas, flea larvae, and flea eggs through contact. It is available without a prescription, according to the supplied product details.
Best for: Owners who want the Advantage II coverage in a larger pack for an eligible cat. It was selected for the combination of stated flea life-stage coverage and six doses. Limitation: It is only listed for cats over 9 pounds and at least 8 weeks old, so it is not the right size category for every cat.
Buying Guide: How to Choose a Cat Flea Treatment
Which weight range should I select?
Start with your cat’s current weight and compare it with the exact range on the package. The products here include options for cats weighing 5–9 pounds and products labeled for cats over 9 pounds. Do not assume that a formula for one weight group can be used for another. If your cat’s weight is near a boundary, verify the label or ask a veterinarian which product is appropriate.
Do I want adult flea control or multiple life-stage coverage?
Among these listings, Advantage II states that it kills adult fleas, larvae, and eggs through contact. The Amazon Basics listings describe killing adult fleas and preventing infestations. Compare the product label’s full claims rather than treating these descriptions as interchangeable.
How many doses are in the package?
The listed packs contain two, four, or six doses. A larger count can mean fewer repeat purchases if you plan to continue treatment, but dose count does not change the product’s stated weight range or directions. Follow the packaging for application timing and duration.
Should I choose a topical product?
Topical options may be worth considering when giving a pill is difficult. Check the package directions before application and use only a product labeled for cats. If your cat is very young, has health concerns, or is using other flea products, ask a veterinarian for guidance.
Frequently Asked Questions
Which listed flea treatment is for cats weighing 5–9 pounds?
Amazon Basics Topical Flea Treatment for Medium Cats is listed for cats weighing 5–9 pounds.
Which products are labeled for large cats?
All four large-cat products in this comparison are labeled for cats over 9 pounds. Check each package for its age requirements and complete directions.
Which option states that it kills flea eggs and larvae?
Both Advantage II Large Cat products state that they kill adult fleas, flea larvae, and flea eggs through contact.
How quickly does Amazon Basics say its treatment works?
The supplied Amazon Basics product details state that the treatment eliminates fleas within 12 hours.
Can I use a dog flea product on my cat?
Use only flea treatments labeled for cats. Check the product label and consult a veterinarian if you are unsure whether a treatment is suitable.