The best choice depends on your kitten’s age and whether you need a flea treatment or a gentle cleanser. Advantage and ADAMS list use for cats and kittens 12 weeks and older; Wondercide lists use from 4 months. Veterinary Formula is a cat-and-dog flea shampoo, but the supplied product details do not specify a kitten age. Burt’s Bees is a kitten shampoo, not a flea treatment. Check the label and ask your veterinarian before using a flea product on a young kitten.
| Product | Best suited for | Age information provided |
|---|---|---|
| Advantage Treatment Shampoo | Flea and tick shampoo for older kittens | 12 weeks and older |
| ADAMS Plus Flea & Tick Shampoo | Flea control with coat conditioning | 12 weeks and older |
| Wondercide Flea & Tick Shampoo | Plant-powered option for older kittens | 4 months and older |
| Veterinary Formula Flea and Tick Shampoo | Contact treatment for cats; verify kitten suitability | Not specified in supplied details |
| Burt’s Bees Tearless Kitten Shampoo | Gentle bathing, not flea treatment | Marketed for kittens; minimum age not specified |
Advantage Treatment Shampoo for Cats and Kittens

Best for: Cat owners seeking a flea and tick shampoo for a kitten at least 12 weeks old. The product information says it kills fleas and ticks on contact and cleans and conditions the coat.
It is a straightforward option when the kitten meets the listed age minimum and the label directions fit the intended use. The supplied features do not describe extended protection after bathing, so do not assume the shampoo alone provides ongoing flea control.
Limitation: It is not listed for kittens younger than 12 weeks. Ask a veterinarian about flea care for younger animals rather than applying an age-restricted product.
ADAMS Plus Flea & Tick Shampoo

Best for: Owners of cats or kittens 12 weeks and older who want a shampoo that targets multiple flea stages. The listed features say it kills fleas, flea eggs, ticks, and lice on contact, and helps stop flea eggs from hatching for 28 days.
The creamy formula is described as washing and conditioning the coat, with a light scent. Choose this if coat softness and flea life-cycle claims are priorities alongside contact treatment.
Limitation: The product is not listed for kittens under 12 weeks. Follow the package directions and avoid treating the stated 28-day claim as a substitute for veterinary guidance on a broader flea-control plan.
Wondercide Rosemary Flea & Tick Shampoo

Best for: Cat owners looking for a plant-powered shampoo for cats and dogs at least 4 months old. The product information says it kills fleas by contact and repels ticks for up to 24 hours. It also states that the formula has no artificial colors, dyes, or fragrances.
Wondercide may suit buyers who prefer a rosemary-scented, plant-powered product and want an initial step during an active pest problem. Use only as directed; “plant-powered” does not mean risk-free for every animal.
Limitation: The stated minimum age is 4 months, so it is not an option for younger kittens. Tick repellency is described as lasting up to 24 hours, not as long-term protection.
Veterinary Formula Flea and Tick Shampoo

Best for: Cat owners comparing a contact flea and tick shampoo with soap- and paraben-free cleansing. The listed formula uses pyrethrum and is described as killing and controlling fleas and ticks on contact while cleansing and exfoliating.
The product is presented for dogs and cats and includes naturally derived cleansers. It may be worth considering for an adult cat when its label supports the intended use. The product details do not give a minimum kitten age.
Limitation: Do not infer kitten safety from the cat-and-dog description alone. Check the current package label and consult a veterinarian before use on a kitten, especially a very young or unwell one.
Burt’s Bees Tearless Kitten Shampoo

Best for: Bathing a kitten when gentle cleansing—not flea treatment—is the goal. The features describe a low-irritation, tearless formula with buttermilk to cleanse and soothe, plus honey to condition the coat.
This is the most clearly kitten-focused cleanser in the list and may suit routine washing or a kitten with sensitive skin. Its tearless description refers to the shampoo’s bathing use; follow the label and keep shampoo out of the eyes as much as possible.
Limitation: The listed features make no flea-killing claim. Choose a veterinarian-approved flea treatment if fleas are present, rather than relying on this shampoo to remove or control an infestation.
Buying Guide: How to Choose a Flea Shampoo for a Kitten
What age is the kitten?
Age is a key filter. Advantage and ADAMS list a minimum age of 12 weeks, while Wondercide lists 4 months. The supplied Veterinary Formula details do not provide an age limit. For kittens younger than a product’s stated minimum—or when no minimum is clear—ask a veterinarian before use.
Do you need flea treatment or just a bath?
Flea shampoos are intended to kill or control pests according to their labels. Burt’s Bees is described as a gentle kitten cleanser, but its listed features do not claim flea control. Do not treat a standard kitten shampoo as a flea product.
Which product claims fit your needs?
- For contact flea and tick treatment with a listed 12-week minimum, compare Advantage and ADAMS.
- For a product that also describes control of flea eggs and a 28-day egg-hatching claim, consider ADAMS, while following its label.
- For a plant-powered formula with a listed 4-month minimum and tick repellency up to 24 hours, compare Wondercide.
- For a gentle kitten bath without a listed flea-treatment claim, consider Burt’s Bees.
Use flea products exactly as directed on their packaging, and do not combine treatments unless a veterinarian advises it. A kitten’s age, health, and exposure can affect which approach is appropriate.
Frequently Asked Questions
Can I use flea shampoo on a kitten younger than 12 weeks?
Do not use a product before its stated minimum age. Ask a veterinarian for a suitable flea-control approach for a younger kitten.
Does tearless kitten shampoo kill fleas?
Not based on the listed features for Burt’s Bees Tearless Kitten Shampoo. It is described as a cleanser and conditioner, not a flea treatment.
Which listed shampoos state an age minimum?
Advantage and ADAMS state 12 weeks and older. Wondercide states 4 months and older.
Does a flea shampoo provide lasting protection?
Protection claims vary. ADAMS lists a 28-day claim for preventing flea eggs from hatching, while Wondercide lists tick repellency for up to 24 hours. Check each label for exact directions and limitations.
Should I ask a veterinarian before treating a kitten?
Yes, particularly when the kitten is very young, sick, or below a product’s stated minimum age. A veterinarian can help select an age-appropriate flea-control plan.