Best No-Sodium Dog Treats: Low-Sodium Picks and Buying Tips

The best choice depends on whether your dog needs treats with no added salt or a veterinarian-directed low-sodium diet. Mattie’s Treats specifically describes its crunchy treats as low sodium, while Bocce’s Bakery says its jerky sticks have zero added salt. Kidney Restore focuses on low protein, but its listed details do not state sodium content. Compare the options below, then check the label and ask your veterinarian which sodium level is appropriate for your dog.

Product Best suited for What the listing says about sodium
Mattie’s Treats Mini Small portions or smaller dogs Low sodium
Mattie’s Treats 16 oz Owners seeking a larger box Low sodium
Bocce’s Bakery Beef & Carrot Jerky Beef-based jerky with no added salt Zero added salt
Kidney Restore Bacon Treats Low-protein treat shoppers Not specified in the provided details
Portland Pet Food Pumpkin Treats Limited-ingredient pumpkin biscuits Not specified in the provided details

Mattie’s Treats Mini Low-Sodium Dog Treats

Mattie's Treats Mini low-sodium dog treats

Check Price on Amazon

Best for: Dogs that benefit from smaller treats or owners who want to control serving size. This 10-ounce box contains mini heart-shaped crunchy treats. The listing describes them as low in protein, phosphorus, and sodium, making them the most directly aligned option here for shoppers seeking all three characteristics.

The product description says the recipe is the same as the larger-size treats and that a percentage of sales supports canine kidney disease research. Choose this option if smaller pieces make training rewards or portion control easier. The listing does not provide a specific sodium amount, so confirm the label with your veterinarian if your dog has a strict daily limit.

Mattie’s Treats 16-Ounce Low-Sodium Box

Mattie's Treats 16-ounce low-sodium dog treats

Check Price on Amazon

Best for: Owners who want the same low-sodium, low-protein, low-phosphorus positioning in a larger box. The six listed ingredients are light rye flour, tapioca flour, pumpkin, cinnamon, fish oil, and canola oil. The maker says a percentage of sales goes toward canine kidney disease research.

Compared with the mini version, this is the better fit if you prefer a 16-ounce package rather than a smaller box. Its ingredient list gives shoppers useful detail, but the product description does not state a precise sodium value. Avoid assuming that “low sodium” means sodium-free; check the package and follow veterinary feeding guidance.

Bocce’s Bakery Beef & Carrot Jerky Sticks

Bocce's Bakery Beef and Carrot jerky stick dog treats

Check Price on Amazon

Best for: Dogs that prefer a beef-based jerky-style reward, and buyers looking for a product advertised with no added salt. The five listed ingredients are beef, vegetable glycerin, brown rice, carrots, and rosemary extract. The listing also says the treats use hormone-free U.S. beef and contain no added sugar, corn, soy, or wheat.

Choose this if a short ingredient list and jerky-stick format matter more than a specific low-sodium claim. The key distinction is that the product says zero added salt; it does not say the treats contain zero sodium. Ask the manufacturer or check the package for sodium information if your dog needs a medically restricted diet.

Kidney Restore Bacon-Flavor Dog Treats

Kidney Restore bacon-flavor dog treats

Check Price on Amazon

Best for: Owners comparing low-protein treats with bacon flavor for dogs with kidney concerns. The listing describes a low-protein recipe and names ingredients and additions including pumpkin, cranberry extract, turmeric, vitamins, and herbs. It recommends using the treats alongside a canine kidney diet and supplement.

This product was included because its renal-focused positioning may interest shoppers comparing treats for dogs with kidney issues. However, the provided product details do not state that it is low sodium or give a sodium amount. Do not select it as a low-sodium treat based on the kidney-related language alone; check the full label and consult your veterinarian.

Portland Pet Food Pumpkin Dog Treats

Portland Pet Food pumpkin dog treats

Check Price on Amazon

Best for: Shoppers seeking pumpkin biscuits with a short ingredient list. The listing names pumpkin, garbanzo bean flour, peanut butter, molasses, and cinnamon. It describes the treats as vegan, grain-free, gluten-free, and free from wheat, dairy, chicken, preservatives, and artificial flavors. The stated serving size is about 12 calories per treat.

Choose this if those ingredients and dietary features are priorities. The listing details provided here do not specify sodium content or claim that the biscuits are low sodium. That makes them less suitable for a strict sodium-restricted diet unless the package or manufacturer confirms the amount.

Buying Guide: How To Choose Low-Sodium Dog Treats

Does “no added salt” mean sodium-free?

No. “No added salt” means salt was not added as an ingredient, but ingredients may still contribute sodium. “Low sodium” also does not necessarily mean a treat meets your dog’s individual limit. Check the nutrition details and ask your veterinarian how treats fit into the daily diet.

What should I check on the label?

  • Look for a stated sodium amount, serving size, and ingredient list.
  • Distinguish between “zero added salt,” “low sodium,” and “sodium-free.” These claims are not interchangeable.
  • Compare the sodium per treat or serving, not just the package description.
  • Check other dietary needs, including protein or phosphorus limits, if your veterinarian has recommended them.

Which type is better for portion control?

The Mattie’s mini treats are specifically described as a smaller size for smaller dogs or smaller portions. Jerky sticks and biscuits may suit different reward preferences, but use the package directions to determine an appropriate serving.

Should dogs with kidney disease have these treats?

Only use treats that fit the feeding plan recommended by your veterinarian. Kidney-related diets can involve more than sodium, including protein and phosphorus. A product’s kidney-focused marketing does not establish that it is appropriate for every dog with kidney disease.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the best option here that explicitly says low sodium?

Both Mattie’s Treats products are described as low sodium. The mini version is in a 10-ounce box; the other option is a 16-ounce box.

Which treat says it has no added salt?

Bocce’s Bakery Beef & Carrot Jerky Sticks are described as having zero added salt. That does not confirm the treats are sodium-free.

Are the Kidney Restore treats confirmed low sodium?

The provided listing details describe them as low protein but do not specify sodium content. Verify the package or contact the manufacturer before using them in a low-sodium diet.

Can I give low-sodium treats every day?

Daily use depends on the treat’s sodium amount, serving size, and your dog’s health plan. Ask your veterinarian how much is appropriate and include treats in the overall diet.

Leave a Comment